• This is going to be a pretty interesting post! Many of you may not know of 'Elephant Nature Park', but its well worth learning about! Ill give you a little taste here! This park in Northern Thailand is dedicated to Elephant Conservation. They rescue Elephants from the Tourist and Logging trade and provide them with a chance to live free, to live as elephants should! I highly recommend you check them out!
Anyway, on to the post!

As a part of Elephant nature Parks 10 year anniversary at their current location, they are asking all bloggers to write up a bucket list of sorts! So here is mine!

My top 10 bucket list!

10. Watching baby turtles take their first swim


  • Living in Australia (Queensland no less!!) I should have crossed this off by now! Unfortunately i've never had the pleasure of seeing such an event! The main attraction to this is the turtles such determination, such ability and strength, so inspiring! Even so, its thought only 1 out of 100 baby turtles mature to adulthood... the ocean is sure a dangerous place, even worse now thanks to humans... We need to start taking responsibility for our actions!
9. Walk the Appalachian Trail

  • After reading Bill Bryson's humorous 'Into the woods' I immediately wanted to try it out for myself! With the immense desire to see a wild bear (at a distance) or even a deer, I'd relish in the challenge! I mean what could be better than hiking for months... well maybe just a few weeks! Haha
8. Work with wildlife rehabilitation in Africa

  • A very broad goal! With a variety of experiences at my finger tips I can hardly contain myself from pressing 'buy now' on those South African air tickets! Im planning to dedicate a whole year to this goal, to help a nation where its wildlife is suffering greatly.
7. Save a tree

  • Bit of a strange thing to be on a bucket list huh! Not so! In thailand  (a buddhist country) conservationists tie blessed orange fabric around trees to prevent them from being cut down by illegal loggers. Even the loggers wouldn't cut down a tree that has been blessed by monks!
6. See a clan of Chimps swing through the trees

  • I cannot say how many times i've watched documentaries on studies of chimps, watching them and their unique but slightly human behaviours! However the sight that gets my heart all in a flutter is seeing them drift through the tree tops!
5. Walk the Great Wall

  • Ok... maybe not ALL of it! But id certainly LOVE to be a part of something that magnificent!
4. See a Giant Panda in the Wild

  • With numbers dwindling Its high time I hopped footed around China waving my banner in support of these great creatures! 
3. Dive with Humpbacks

  • Being Aussie, i've been on my share of whale watching boat trips. Something about them pulls my heart strings, they are kinda like the elephants of the sea! In a social way!
2. Rescue an Elephant

  • After my short but memorable time at the Elephant Nature Park in Thailand I have felt a huge drive to help these amazing creatures. Under huge pressure from the tourist trade, they need our help more than EVER! If I can help but one elephant escape that reality, then my heart would be eternally happy! Always remember, don't participate in elephant rides or shows or street begging, keeps these giants in the jungle! Not under your bum! 
1. Save the Red Panda

  • With only 400 red pandas left in Nepal, and possibly only 2000 worldwide these amazing animals deserve our help to ensure their survival. Red Pandas are a critical element to the Nepali ecosystem, which acts as the 'lungs of the earth' however the devastating reality is that humans are quickly destroying their habitat to make way to farm land and grazing land for cattle and yak. I have a huge affinity with Red Pandas, my heart skips a beat when I see them! It would be devastating to see such a marvellous animal slide into extinction without people noticing them....

“My top 10 bucket list post is a part of Save Elephant Foundation’s blog carnival to celebrate the 10-year anniversary of Elephant Nature Park.”
JAG
4/7/2013 10:00:30 pm

What a great bucket list. I too have been to the Elephant nature park and it is most definitely worth your time. Such a rewarding and eye opening experience.

Reply
Emma Dale
4/7/2013 10:01:43 pm

Thanks! It is such an amazing place. If only people opened their eyes to the injustice towards elephants throughout the world!

Reply
4/14/2013 02:40:03 am

Love your bucket list. Elephant Nature Park is one of our favourite places. We want to go back soon!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About Me
    My love for red pandas started at a young age, when I saw them at Sydney’s Taronga Zoo, I learnt about their plight and the devastating reality that one day they might not exist at all. And from then on I knew what my purpose in life was, to save red pandas (as cliché as that sounds). That passion eventuated into action in 2011 when I journeyed to their Natural habitat in the Eastern highlands of Nepal. This is where I had the pleasure of seeing not one but two 3 month old cubs. After returning from Nepal I began to take a more hands on conservation approach from Australia. This blog will hopefully give an insight into the minefield that is wildlife conservation, and provide an understanding about the injustices towards animals in this human dominated world of ours.

    Archives

    May 2013
    April 2013

    Categories

    All