Lately I've been posting a lot of images of Elephants, and I thought I would relive my experience at Elephant Nature Park Chiang Mai.

Last November my boyfriend Jake and I journeyed to the beautiful country of Thailand. An idealistic holiday destination for many Australians. Jake and I, instead of choosing to 'relax' on our holiday (hah), thought we would volunteer at a very special place called 'Elephant Nature Park' (ENP).

ENP is run by a crack team of passionate people, all with the aim of conserving the Asian Elephant. Founded by Sangduen "Lek" Chailert, this wonderful place has become a sort of retirement home for Asian Elephants in Thailand (read more about Lek here: http://www.elephantnaturefoundation.org/go/founder).

At this point I would like to tell you a bit about the treatment of captive elephants in Asia. As I was saying before Thailand (and most of Asia for that matter) is on the bucket list for many Australians, but the worst thing is, that Elephant Riding is also on most of their 'to experience' list.

The elephants’ spirits are broken through unbelievably gruesome methods, while they are tied up or chained in a pen where they cannot move. With the help of systematic torture over days and weeks, often without water or food, an elephant learns that he or she has to obey human control. Later, at work, many mahouts use the bullhooks frequently to feel certain that the elephant does not annoy their customers, and stay in line. (I got my information from HERE)

Enough of that, down to the fun stuff!

Jake and I spent a wonderful week in Chaing Mai doing everything from picking up Elephant poo (my favorite job) to preparing food for the elephants (Jake's favorite job)! And boy was it a blast! We even got to meet the parks newest resident baby Navaan! So precious! Born on my Birthday, this baby was 150kg of trouble!

For now I'll leave you with a select few images from my time at the park! Oh and if you what to change your life for the better, meet new friends (all amazing people) and help the elephants: Click Here!



Leave a Reply.

    About Me
    My love for red pandas started at a young age, when I saw them at Sydney’s Taronga Zoo, I learnt about their plight and the devastating reality that one day they might not exist at all. And from then on I knew what my purpose in life was, to save red pandas (as cliché as that sounds). That passion eventuated into action in 2011 when I journeyed to their Natural habitat in the Eastern highlands of Nepal. This is where I had the pleasure of seeing not one but two 3 month old cubs. After returning from Nepal I began to take a more hands on conservation approach from Australia. This blog will hopefully give an insight into the minefield that is wildlife conservation, and provide an understanding about the injustices towards animals in this human dominated world of ours.

    Archives

    May 2013
    April 2013

    Categories

    All