"Good morning little men!" I exclaim as I great my two puppies every morning. I'm greated in turn by yelps and frantic tail wags! Now I don't know if dogs understand English, they must do to an extent, however it's the tone, I've been told, that the dogs respond to.

I often feel like I have the most in depth conversations with animals, granted they are very one sided! But are also very rewarding. A word might not even be said, but a connection is made.

One time, I was sitting inside a red panda enclosure at a local zoo, just chatting to a keeper about their pandas, when one of their cheeky boys meanders down his tree to us and just sits, not asking for food,he is just happy to sit between us. Very special. And a moment I will always remember.

While at the elephant nature park, many of the elephants had horrific backgrounds and although there is an obvious language barrier, I felt a connection to all the animals, because they were kind hearted enough to forgive humans and open their hearts again, to allow us to listen to their stories and to help them.

And to end this incoherent post :P
If you have a pet, or are even luckily enough to be able to see wild animals close to your home, take a moment to listen, feel their soul, remember their story, you won't regret it.



Leave a Reply.

    About Me
    My love for red pandas started at a young age, when I saw them at Sydney’s Taronga Zoo, I learnt about their plight and the devastating reality that one day they might not exist at all. And from then on I knew what my purpose in life was, to save red pandas (as cliché as that sounds). That passion eventuated into action in 2011 when I journeyed to their Natural habitat in the Eastern highlands of Nepal. This is where I had the pleasure of seeing not one but two 3 month old cubs. After returning from Nepal I began to take a more hands on conservation approach from Australia. This blog will hopefully give an insight into the minefield that is wildlife conservation, and provide an understanding about the injustices towards animals in this human dominated world of ours.

    Archives

    May 2013
    April 2013

    Categories

    All