My dog lhotse is... 12 years old, a Lhasa Apso, very brave and my bestfriend.

We bought my dogs from a pet shop when I was six. Of course now I know all about the industry and how horrific it is, but they were just too cute! My grandfather bought one for himself, to keep him company in his old age. But after purchasing the puppy, his brother, still behind the plastic walls of his prison began howling uncontrollably, for his beloved sibling. And so that's how I met my bestfriend! They were named Lhotse (after the third tallest peak in the world) and Poche (after who knows what!). Actually funny story, I wanted to name them, but mum and grandpa already had, and so to prevent six year old me throwing a temper tantrum she told me the shop keeper named them... A lie she regretted telling when, at the same shop we bought them at, I asked what a dogs name was and the assistant told me it didn't have one as it hadnt been bought!

Anyway, I digress. 12 years later here we are, at the end my dear boy. You've struggled through so much, and put on that brave face of yours so long.

Lhotse is still with us, but is getting sicker by the day, with his tail still wagging we hold onto hope that our wondrous puppy will be with us for a few more weeks.

I guess the reason I'm writing this here, is because most, if not all of my bravey and courage is from this little boy. He was born with a birth defect, hindering his ability to do almost anything (due to his probable inbreeding), his vet says he is the hardest dog to diagnose as he is so so brave.

Tonight I took him and his brother for a walk, and while Poche wanted to run Lhotse wasn't able to. So as he sat down, I let Poche go for a run, but they wouldn't walk without eachother, true love.

Tonight as he drifted into a deep slumber, I rubbed his aching joints, and it looked like he was smiling :)

I love you forever lhotse :)
4/9/2013 10:50:55 pm

I'm sending positive thoughts to Lhotse :) there's no friendship quite like that of a dog's :)

Reply
Jint
4/10/2013 11:48:00 am

This is beautiful, Em :( your couch wolves were so so so lucky that you were the person to take them home, and love them so well!
Best wishes to Lhotse (Latte?) from all of us down here. xx

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About Me
    My love for red pandas started at a young age, when I saw them at Sydney’s Taronga Zoo, I learnt about their plight and the devastating reality that one day they might not exist at all. And from then on I knew what my purpose in life was, to save red pandas (as cliché as that sounds). That passion eventuated into action in 2011 when I journeyed to their Natural habitat in the Eastern highlands of Nepal. This is where I had the pleasure of seeing not one but two 3 month old cubs. After returning from Nepal I began to take a more hands on conservation approach from Australia. This blog will hopefully give an insight into the minefield that is wildlife conservation, and provide an understanding about the injustices towards animals in this human dominated world of ours.

    Archives

    May 2013
    April 2013

    Categories

    All